FREE SHIPPING on domestic orders over $75
CSFreedom™ Herbal Lip Balm fever blister, vegan lip balm, herbal cold sore remedy, cold sore lip balm, herpes

CSFreedom™ Herbal Lip Balm Reviews

Customer Product Review

  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    11/17/2015

    LOVE THIS! I cannot go anywhere without my lip balm. I have tried so many other products, some that were pretty expensive and they still burned my lips upon application. No real smell to the balm. Feels like shea butter consistency and once i warm it between my hands, it applies much better.

  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    4/12/2016

    I love this chapstick however when I got it the second time it Broke up when I opened it, maybe the heat ? I don't know but I have to order another one now

    Reply from Zi Zai Dermatology 04/19/2016:

    Our CSFreedom lip balm contains candelilla wax - a plant-based wax that is more brittle than beeswax. This wax makes the product firmer in colder temperatures and when we make the product, it cools and firms up very quickly. It is possible that upon initial cooling, a micro crack formed, which may have led to a chunk breaking off when you took the cap off or when you first tried to apply it. We have sent you a replacement.

  • New York, NY
    Rating:
    Pros:
    • portability
    • smell
    Cons:
    • too%20waxy/dry

    8/11/2016

    I like this lip balm, but can only use it with the herb-infused oil due to extremely dry lips from Sjorgrens Syndrome. Hopefully someday they'll be moisturized enough to use on it's own!

  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    9/12/2016

    Absolutely love this product and the bees wax free mostly because I wanted an all natural lip balm and I am allergic to beeswax. Only downfall is the shipping amount and when I get it sometimes it clumps up and falls apart but I just try to mush it back together and you the remains pieces that I've squashed together! I highly recommend all their products!

    REPLY FROM ZI ZAI DERMATOLOGY 09/12/2016:

    Candelilla wax is much more brittle than beeswax but we have figured out how to prevent the lip balm from crumbling (as a result of heating/cooling repeatedly) so this should not happen to future batches.

  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    8/21/2018

    Best lip balm I’ve ever used, I feel lost without it now, only lip balm I feel safe using after suffering with severe cold sores.
  • NJ
    Rating:
    Pros:
    • Effective
    Cons:
    • None at all

    Amazing product 12/27/2019

    I deal with the chapped lips every season and tried every product on the market. Nothing works. I would need to apply and reapply over and over. It was frustrating. I finally tried this product by Zi Zai and it totally blew my hair back. I’m cured of the chapped lips! My son, too. He gets it worse than I do. We are happy campers!
  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Amazing product!!!! 12/3/2017

    My lips were a total pain for several months! After I tried just about everything for my aching, burning, itching lips, I tried this wonderful lip balm (along with frankincense oil) and my lips were back to normal in just a few days!!! Thank you!
  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    BEST LIP BALM EVER!! 5/8/2018

    I am 56 years old and have tried hundreds of lip balms over the years. Not ONE lip balm compares to this one!

    I have battling with atopic dermatitis for 10 months. My lips were affected by it. I have tried ointments prescribed by dermatologists, vegan lip balms, etc. I have spent countless hours researching for a cure and finally found one!! Within one week, the rash, scaling and peeling have vanished. AMAZING!!!

  • California
    Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Best lip balm in preventing cold sores 8/1/2017

    Due to genetics, my husband has had cold sores ever since he was a child. He would break out and use Abreva each time. There was no solution to preventing his cold sores and it triggers due to various causes. I found out about CS Freedom lip balm with ZiZai Dematology and decided to give it a try. He has been using this lip balm for 1 year now and so far only 1 time he had a cold sore! It has absolutely prevented his cold sore breakouts and decreased the frequency of it.

    I highly recommend trying this product out. Not sure if it will work for everyone, but at least for my husband, he's been cold-sore free for much longer.

  • UK
    Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Can't thank Zi Zai enough! Amazing product 3/28/2015

    I have had dry, red, peeling, splitting, painful, horrible lips for as long a I can remember. I must have used every single chapstick/lipbalm out there to try and deal with the problem. I have also read countless blogs advising me to throw all lip products away and go cold turkey. Nothing has ever worked for me.

    As soon as I began using these products I noticed a difference. I bought the CSFreedom and Firequencher and from the first day my lips began to heal. I held back writing this review for quite a while just to make sure that it wasn't a short term thing and my lips would go back to their old peeling ways. I am now around 8 weeks in and my lips are totally NORMAL. Just soft, smooth,normal lips. I am smiling from ear to ear, I have no pain, there is no redness, and best of all NO PEELING!

    I don't think anyone that has been lucky enough not to suffer with perioral dermatitis, eczema, cheilitis or just plain old dry lips can ever appreciate how much it affects your life. I honestly cannot recommend these products enough. My only regret is not discovering Zi Zai sooner! Much love x

  • Grants Pass
    Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    CS Freedom 10/10/2019

    Love this product! Def helps if utilized upon first sign to evade further break outs or worsening of symptoms. If only this had L-lysine and zinc oxide added to the mix, one could give up all other lip balm products. 🧡
  • Rating:
    Pros:
    • Gentle enough for sensitive skin
    • Keeps lips soft and hydrated
    Cons:

    CSFreedom lip balm review 2/6/2017

    This is one of only two lip balms that is gentle enough for me to use after I started having a bad reaction to the skin around my mouth.

    It does sometimes have hard little particles I have to pick out and the smell is very mild so I would love to see more options with that at some point.

    But everything else I have tried only burned my skin and made it worse so this is now my go to lip balm and I definitely recommended it.

    REPLY FROM ZI ZAI DERMATOLOGY 2017-02-06:

    Those hard little particles are the candelilla wax - we have recently switched to a new supplier of this ingredient so future batches will be smoother. Regarding the natural fragrance of the product, it will smell mildly like cocoa butter, with maybe a hint of herbs. We will not add any artificial fragrance or flavors to this or any of our products. The products will smell like the natural ingredients that comprise them.

  • Downingtown, PA
    Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Excellent! 2/20/2017

    My daughter gets frequent cold sores. She now uses this balm 2x/day along with the herb-infused oil designed for cold sores (also from Zi Zai) and they are significantly less severe. Love this product and will buy again.

  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    great lip balm 1/2/2016

    This was my second order. Ordered 3 tubes this time wwhich arrived promptly. Lovely product. Will use this site again.

  • LA CROSSE
    Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Great Product, but..... 3/16/2016

    First, I want to say that I absolutely love this product. With a Balsam of Peru sensitivity, this is the only lip balm/chap stick I can use that does not give my lips and surrounding skin little blisters. That said, I am frustrated because the tubes do not last long at all. It almost seems like the tube is not actually full of the balm, but only partially full. Now, granted I use this every day, multiple times. However, I only apply lightly, and one tube does not last more than 2 weeks. I ordered 4 of the lip balms less than 6 weeks ago and am already on the last tube. At nearly $5 per tube, I would expect they'd last longer.

    Reply from Zi Zai Dermatology 03/16/16:

    We assure you that the lip balm tubes are filled completely full - there is no way to partially fill the tubes. We even post photos of the process whenever we make a new batch on Instagram if you would like to follow us there. When making lip balm that is infused with herbs, not only are we adding herbs that increase the cost of the ingredients, but the process is more time-consuming than regular lip balms that only require oils, butters and waxes to be heated and then poured. And remember...we make everything by hand. So all this gets factored into the price of our product.

  • Rating:
    Pros:
    • nature
    Cons:
    • too%20hard

    It works! 7/2/2015

    It clear up my cold sore and moisture my lips, but it seems too hard to apply on my lips, so I have to take them out, melt them and add some more oil (I use lemon balm infused oil) just to make them softer. I'm going to buy the CSFreedom™ Herb-Infused Oil and I think that would do a better job.

    Reply From Zi Zai Dermatology:

    Yes, the CSFreedom™ Oil would be a better choice to treat cold sores that are tender and painful. Much easier to apply a few drops of oil to a cold sore than to try to spread a balm on it. The lip balm is a better choice to use between outbreaks.

  • CO
    Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Lip Balm 6/27/2017

    I like the product. My sister-in-law likes it a lot also. It really makes a difference, not having beeswax in it.

  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Lip Balm for Cold Sores 8/4/2020

    The best quality product for cold sores! It works faster and better than abreeva. I’ve been using this product for years and haven’t had a cold sore since! Highly recommend!!
  • San Francisco, CA
    Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Lip savior 3/17/2020

    I have used Zi Zai lip products before because I am allergic to propolis and I had found this online years ago. In the last couple of years I had used other products that don’t contain beeswax, but a couple of months ago I had these dry patches on my lips that none of all these other fancy vegan balms were fixing. So I went back to Zi Zai. Healed everything right away! These products are so good and help with issues that even dermatologists can’t identify. So grateful! I can’t praise them enough!
  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Lipbalm 1/12/2018

    Finally a lipbalm that works for me. I have this irritating dermatitis around my lips cause by many food allergies or food irritants. This quality product works for me to help keep my lips moist.

  • Myrtle Beach, SC
    Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Love ❤️ 1/27/2017

    This lip balm is amazing! it's natural and organic not like the store brands. Your lips are smooth and moisturized all day. I apply it every morning under my lipstick and by the end of the day my lips are still nice and smooth. I can't live without it!

  • North Dakota
    Rating:
    Pros:
    • great%20product
    Cons:

    No cold sores. 10/27/2015

    I used to get cold sores, but I don't anymore. Still, I know the virus stays dormant in the system so I like to keep the CSFreedom on hand and use one tube a year just because. I am a huge fan of all the lip balm products from Zi Zai, so I like to keep a variety of them around.

  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    The only thing to help my mystery lip rash 7/17/2015

    I suddenly developed a really bad rash on my lips. My lips became very red and inflamed, and tiny red bumps started to form that would ooze a clear fluid. Then the fluid would crust over and get really flaky. It looked horrible and was painful and would not go away no matter how many different chapsticks/ointments/cremes I applied to my mouth. I tried switching to various natural toothpaste and even tried changing my diet in different ways - still no improvement.

    I finally went to the doctor who couldn't give me any definitive answer and just prescribed me a steroid creme. The creme worked, but you can't use it for more than a couple weeks at a time. As soon as I'd stop, my lips would freak out again.

    Luckily my desperate search for a cure led me to this website! The CSFreedom was the only thing to stop my lips from oozing and crusting.

    I finally figured out that my foundation contained an ingredient that my lips were sensitive to and once I eliminated my foundation, my lips were no longer red and inflamed (and they would be gross and crusty too, but the CSFreedom had stopped that). I still use the CSFreedom lipbalm when it seems like my lips are a little irritated by something and it immediately calms them down. And I use the BeeswaxFree Herbal Lip Balm for days when my lips are fine - it works great and I don't have to reapply it constantly!

    Your lipbalms saved me from being a perpetual, sad crustbunny. I can't thank you enough!

  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Very good product! 2/1/2017

    My teenage daughter developed a contact dermatitis from an all natural lip balm. The dermatologist believes it is the beeswax. I really appreciate this product as it is the only all natural lip balm I could find without beeswax

  • Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Was looking for a solution 11/6/2016

    I have been having allergic reactions to any chapstick containing beeswax recently. Even Carmex seemed to have given me a bad reaction on my lips. I seemed to come across a related article pointing in the direction of chelitis. While reading I came across Zi Zai due to it's beneficial ingredients. I ordered the regular chapstick. Shipping was fast. Packaging was adorable. Even came with a free tinted chapstick to boot! I love the tinted a bit more than the regular. Only downside is the lack of moisture in the product compared to Vaseline and the scent could be a bit more appealing. I would certainly still recommend it.

  • Toronto
    Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:

    Works well as a regular lip balm 5/17/2016

    I don't use this for cold sores on my lips as I don't get them there. So, I really cannot say how well it will work for this purpose. But, I do use this to switch between the regular BeeswaxFree lip balm after each tube just to give my system some variety so as not to habituate to one type of "med" all the time. For this purpose it works just as well as the regular BeeswaxFree one; which is great!

Reviews 1-26 of 26
© 2015 Zi Zai Dermatology